>>
you're reading...
ANALYZER Lv. 3, Classical, Features, Game Music

Resident Evil: The Darkside Chronicles OST – The Theme of Alexia Type I


The Theme of Alexia Type I

Well colored me impressed! It’s been a while since a piece of music inspired me to dedicate a post to it. From its original composition from Code: Veronica X, it has transformed into a lush piece of excitement, action, bravery, and even romance to my mind. I am not quite sure if the added length of composition was added by the original composer from Code: Veronica X, or by the orchestrator Yoshihisa Hirano, but I know that this piece of music made me reminiscence of the piece “Der Hölle Rache kocht in meinem Herzen, from Mozart’s German Opera “Die Zauberflöte” (The Magic Flute).

Der Hölle Rache kocht in meinem Herzen

Tell me that those high-note executions and triplets aren’t killer? Phew! Mozart sure did know how to write for Soprano! One of his letters to his dear sister Narnel even mentions his thought on singing:

“The human voice vibrates naturally-but in such a way-to such a degree that it all sounds beautiful-it is the nature of the voice. We imitate such effects not only on wind instruments, but also with violins-even on the clavier-but as soon as you go beyond natural limits, it is no longer sounds beautiful-because it is contrary to nature.”

Mozart, 1778

The quote above is taken from Robert Spaethling’s Mozart’s Letters, Mozart’s Life, an entertaining compilation of selected letters of Mozart. I highly recommend the book to everyone if you’re looking for a relaxing read about Mozart and his personal life. I wrote a paper focusing on this book in regards to Mozart’s thoughts on singing and Opera…if anyone is interested I can upload it and send it your way, just ask for a link to the paper.

Zip to Orchestrator ->

Because I was so impressed with the orchestration and composition, I made it a point to search out information about the composer and orchestrator (Little did I know what I would find!). When I read the discography of Hirano = Mind Shattered. I was not aware that he has done arranging for Ali Project and I completely forgot that he worked on Death Note! Because of this newly obtained, and freshly renewed, info I want to make it a small project to gather as much information about Hirano and listen to his other arrangements. I’ll end here and catch everyone next time. :3

Thanks to Jesse “Main Finger” for pointing this piece out!

July 29th 2012 EDIT: First Aired on Runepoints.wordpress.com July 1st, 2011.

About Marcos A. Gaspar

Videogame music enthusiast. :)

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

Contact

Have any game music topics I should mention here? Send them my way via email at rhythmroo@live.com.
